The Prince Edward Island Encyclopaedia

It has been a struggle to get my eldest child to write.

He enjoys sharing just about every thought that passes through his 13.5 yo mind. Sometimes, this is wonderful; I would much rather this be the case than he feel that he could not share or communicate his views and emotions with us. Sometimes, this is God-Awful; I am trying to prepare supper/multiply a recipe by 3/figure out what needs to be done for the 8yo’s homeschooling while he (the 13.5 yo) is talking talking talking…

The beauty of writing one’s thoughts is that our loved ones can read them at their leisure and truly contemplate on them, and soak them in.

I had tried in the past to get my child to start a blog, or write out his ideas. Anything besides verbally reciting every detail of them to me all day long. I do not have access to enough wine to tolerate that on a daily basis. I feel guilty for even feeling that way. I got… nowhere. Whatsoever.

And then one day…

Someone on my Facebook “liked” something to do with The Prince Edward Island Encyclopaedia. I was curious: what was this? So I checked it out. And laughed. And laughed. And laughed. I was laughing so hard I was crying. It was AWESOME.

My son could hear me. So I (slightly reluctantly) told him what I was laughing at. He checked them out.  And laughed. And laughed. And laughed. And proceeded to type out a script involving two losers and McFly and Doc from Back to the Future.

He spent all of the next morning working on it.

I just about went into shock.

I could pick. I could complain. But I won’t.

He has been inspired. And he is writing.

So I read, and help where I can, and encourage.

I should warn my Christian friends that if they check out The Prince Edward Island Encyclopaedia, they may not enjoy it very much. It would be wise to turn the volume down a little if wee ones are around. But… I guess it depends on the person.

But for me…

I’m glad he’s inspired.  We all need to be, right? 🙂

One thought on “The Prince Edward Island Encyclopaedia

Leave a Reply

