Different

My apologies for the delay in writing a new post. I have been busy at home and busy (temporarily) working outside of home–oddly enough in a school not very far from here.

I have come to realize that my 8-year-old’s spelling is nowhere close to where it should be, regardless of the fact that he reads quite well and is unbelievably creative and witty when writing stories. He just… spells his words terribly. No matter what. It’s kind of freaking me out as none of the others (he is kiddo #4) have struggled with spelling. I think it slipped by me because he writes well when composing sentences for worksheets or workbooks, and as I mentioned, reads well. It’s when he’s left to his own devices and decides to make something up and write it out that it just about takes a course in Code Cracking to make any sense of it.

I’m making a point of returning to spelling lists and exercises from a couple of years ago, hoping that anything that was not retained will be now. I am also aware that my husband, while being unbelievably intelligent and capable of grasping any concept he puts his mind to (I often feel like an absolute moron next to this man and my IQ falls into the highly gifted range), still asks me how to spell many words at age 49. Almost 50… My son is much like his father: he works hard and gets the job done, and done well. He does not complain about hard work, and takes a kind of initiative that is lacking in many adults. He is also the size of a 5-year-old, which makes his work habits seem all the more incredible.

My 6-year-old loves words. He loves to communicate. He is like me. So spelling is no biggie for him. Not that I never make a mistake, but thanks to a love for words and language in general, I have never struggled.

Any ideas? Clues as to how I can facilitate the spelling with the 8-year-old without overloading him? This is my last week in the school, so I will be home full time again after Friday.

They are all so different, aren’t they?

Sigh…

4 thoughts on “Different

  1. I just discovered you via Homeschool Horizons, and I just want to say THANK YOU for sharing this. My 9-year-old daughter is terrible at spelling, and she, too, is an avid reader. She reads EVERYTHING, and has no trouble sounding out or pronouncing new words – she just can’t seem to SPELL anything. We’ve tried different spelling approaches, but nothing seems to work. I seriously feel like I’m banging my head against a wall.

    I have no suggestions for you, but I am grateful that there is another parent with the same issue. So thanks! 🙂

    Nita

    1. Hi Nita,

      Apparently it’s a pretty common thing. I am no longer freaking out about it, just working with him bit by bit so as not to turn him off with too much pressure.

      Thank you for stopping by. Hope all goes well for you guys. 🙂

Leave a Reply

