Two Week Meal Plan

So…

We have recently discovered that one of our children has Celiac Disease, which has caused me to clean out and reorganize my kitchen, pantry, freezer and fridge after doing a bunch of reading and getting quite stressed out and emotional for a few days while absorbing a ton of (initially overwhelming and discouraging) information. But I’m breathing now.

There needs to be a “system” to avoid cross-contamination, and a plan in place to ensure that there is always a GF (Gluten Free) meal available for this child that is tasty and nutritionally adequate. I have to say, he has been far more on the ball than I have at times, stopping me when I was about to spread already-spread-on-several-pieces-of-bread hummus on his gf bread…

Um, Mom, aren’t I not supposed to have that because there could be crumbs in it from you guys using it? 

Smart kid.

Bad Mom…

Anyhow, this massive “sort through” of my food pantry and refrigerator caused me to realize just how slack we have (I have) become as far as cooking and baking go. No, I do not wish to become a slave to my kitchen again, but the reality is we have been picking up quicker foods and sale items so often that we ignore the dry goods in our pantry a little too much for my taste. And in our Pink Sticker Zeal (our grocery store puts bright pink 50% off stickers on items that are almost done their shelf life — so I nab them and freeze them) I think we have actually begun to spend more than we would if we just created a simple meal plan and rolled with it.

So I did.

I asked the kids what their three favourite meals were & based a two week meal plan on them. All of the breakfasts are the same in both weeks, and there are only a couple of variations for lunches and dinners. But I think this can work. Truthfully I’ve never tried quinoa before but there is some in my cupboard so I’m game (as are the kids), and if we don’t like it we can change that one.

So here is Week One:

BREAKFAST LUNCH DINNER
SUNDAY Scrambled eggs or egg frittata & fruit Tuna sandwiches Pancakes or waffles
MONDAY Baked oatmeal(toast frozen leftover GF waffles or pancakes for M.) Pitas, hummus/sunflower seed dip & veggies Spaghetti & salad
TUESDAY Molasses cake & yogurt Seafood pasta salad Eggs & hashbrowns
WEDNESDAY Toast & PB(GF bread for M.) Pea soup Meatloaf with veggies & rice
THURSDAY Yogurt and fruit Chili & baked potatoes Sausage & macaroni casserole
FRIDAY Quinoa & fruit Egg salad sandwiches Burgers & home fries
(GF bun for M.)
SATURDAY Boiled eggs & GF muffins PB & J sandwiches(GF bread for M.) Shepherd’s pie (or leftovers)

And here is Week Two:

BREAKFAST LUNCH DINNER
SUNDAY Scrambled eggs or egg frittata & fruit Seafood pasta salad Pizza
MONDAY Baked oatmeal(toast frozen leftover GF waffles or pancakes for M.) PB & J(GF for M.) Chowder
TUESDAY Molasses cake & yogurt Tuna sandwiches Hamburger gravy over rice & veggies
WEDNESDAY Toast & PB(GF bread for M.) Pea soup Potato & sausage medley
THURSDAY Yogurt and fruit Chili & baked potatoes Pitas, hummus/sunflower seed dip & veggies
FRIDAY Quinoa & fruit Pitas,hummus/sunflower seed dip & veggies Burgers & home fries
(GF bun for M.)
SATURDAY Boiled eggs & GF muffins Egg salad sandwiches Shepherd’s pie (or leftovers)

I also made a grocery list for each week that will be slipped in a plastic cover so I can cross things out with a dry rease marker if we either don’t need them that week or when I actually get them at the store.

All of the pasta we use is now rice pasta, which is the same price as regular and we all like it just as much. I also make sure there is GF bread for M. for any sandwiches or toast he may want. He’s not always a fan, so sometimes for things like egg salad sandwiches he’ll just have the egg salad and some celery sticks or something. The molasses cake is made with blackstrap molasses and very little sugar (something like 1/4 cup?) and is loaded with calcium and iron. They all love it. I use rice flour so M. can have some too. I also get a GF pancake mix for him.

What do you think? Any suggestions?

6 thoughts on “Two Week Meal Plan

  1. Sounds fantastic! We tried quinoa for the first time the other day, but instead of using it as a breakfast cereal, we used it with a salmon meal as a substitute for rice. We just put a little olive oil in it, and it was delicious! I learned that it’s actually a seed instead of a grain, so it has protein in it, and it’s very, very good for you.

    1. I am curious to know what it tastes like… I wasn’t aware that it was a seed and not a grain, so it’s neat to find out about the higher amount of protein. 🙂

      Thanks, Amy!

  2. I have a great gluten free muffin recipe which I will post. Also are you making your own gluten free bread? I’ve been using the Dunkirken mixes and adding a few things to it to improve it. I like it as toast or sandwiches and it is the best gluten free bread I’ve found.

    1. Thanks Meaghan. Would love to try it.

      I have made it from the Dunkerkin mix and have also made my own with rice flour, just to give him a bit of variety. 🙂

Leave a Reply

