You know you’re a homeschooler when…

It had been a steady afternoon at the restaurant where I currently waitress part-time. I came home, made dinner, cleaned up, and snuggled to watch a movie and indulge in a couple of vodka & cranberries with The Husband. I hadn’t been feeling 100% that day but figured I was just a little tired.

My stomach told me otherwise that night.

The worst part? I had been hired to paint with groups of adults and children who were attending the Festival Acadien  not too far from here, and there was no way I could handle it, which I became aware of when I tried (unsuccessfully) to eat breakfast on Saturday morning.

I hate being sick. I feel like being sick forces me to waste time on my rapidly depleting Life Counter… The seconds, minutes, and ultimately hours whittle away as I sit or lay there, waiting to feel better, while life goes on around me.  Ugh. So I decided to do what any homeschooling mother of many children in the same situation would do: I planned out most of the boys’ fall homeschooling and investigated a few new sites online that could be of assistance to them over the next few months.

This is what Moms like myself do if we are too sick to carry on with normal life but not sick enough to completely pass out until our illness has run it’s course. And I am not crazy: I can think of several “Moms of many” that homeschool who would do EXACTLY the same thing. Seriously. It’s kind of funny, actually.

At some point, I will make up one of those “You know you’re a large family when…” list, along with a “You know you’re a homeschooler when…” list. Just not today. I worked at the restaurant again this morning, ran errands, put my feet up for a bit and indulged in a nice mug of freshly ground dark roast, and now I am going to make dinner for the tribe.

Have a good one. 🙂

3 thoughts on “You know you’re a homeschooler when…

  1. Instead of you know you’re a homeschooler when…, you should write you know you’re a mom when… because most moms I know are like that, including myself. And being a teacher makes it that much more true. Hope you’re feeling better!

    1. I wonder, though, if maybe because you are a teacher this seems normal to you? When I think of the Moms I know who would do this, they are all either homeschoolers or teachers LOL…

      And thank you, I am feeling much better. Visit from and old acquaintance & his family who are currently camping by our stream completely made my evening. 🙂

Leave a Reply

