Balance

This morning I am grumbling. I want my way. My crazy, fly-by-the-seat-of-my-pants, overloaded schedule way. And I’m not getting it. Which is not a bad thing.

I am a Gemini. An air sign. A fun, on-the-go, super sociable gal. I need my down time or I will crash, but generally social situations completely recharge me (depending on the situation and people, of course). We had a BBQ buffet at work, it was busy, it was wild, but I had FUN. If I had my way, I would be trekking the kids here there & everywhere, and to hell with the housekeeping, we’ll deal with it later. If we do at all…

My hubby is a Taurus. An earth sign. Home is his comfort zone. Partnership & immediate family satisfy his need for relationships. His surroundings need to be aesthetically pleasing to all five senses in order for him to feel satisfied and fulfilled. Wifey needs to be attractive, food needs to be good, home needs to be nice, property needs to be groomed, and housework needs to be kept up. “I have my wife (who can cook ha ha ha), she is my best friend, I have my house, my children, my life. I am happy.”…

I can idealize how much fun life would be if I had my way all the time, but realistically it would become chaos. And life completely my husband’s way would be unsatisfying as well. We have come to balance each other out. And it is a good thing.

He brings solidity to my tornado. He is an anchor, a rock. I have developed (some) organization and discipline thanks to him. He has opened himself to a bit more spice and colour, and learned to let the little things slide a little more. We are a good team, but it has taken a long time to get where we are.

He still grumbles when the house is a mess. But then I clean it up and life goes on. I still grumble when I can’t be part of every committee/activity/event that goes on, or have the kids’ friends staying over every night, or swap kids with other moms to co-ordinate activities and what not, but truthfully he is pretty cool about occasional child trades and makes life fun for the kids & their friends so I really can’t complain.

Sharing a life with someone over the years transforms us. It is unhealthy when one person gets their way all of the time; they don’t grow. I like that we both put our foot down, but we also both give in. And after so many years, we both recognize and appreciate each other’s efforts. What comes naturally to him may not come naturally to me, and vice versa.

On that note, my kitchen is a disaster. I am going to clean it, and fold some laundry, before I zip down to the local library with the kids and indulge in some Gemini-esque activity.

Balance. Give & take. Thank you, dear husband. I love life with you…

6 thoughts on “Balance

    1. If you are more familiar with the four temperaments (Melancholy, Sanguine, Phlegmatic and Choleric) then perhaps we have similar temperaments as might our husbands. I am a Sanguine/Phlegmatic with a smidgen of Melancholy tossed into the blend. My husband seems to be a Melancholy/Choleric, with a small tad of the remaining two. Does any of this ring a bell to you? 🙂

Leave a Reply

