Snottiness and lack of yoga

It has been a while since my last post. We are well-settled into our new home, and making a few adjustments to it so that we are a little more comfortable, as there are nine of us.

What a great little spot, in a completely different area of eastern PEI. We remain just a few minutes from Montague, but in the opposite direction. Yet things are… different here. I am always struck by the contrasts between residents of separate areas of the island. The total population is so small—comparable to a small city elsewhere—an yet each community is unique in it’s own way.

To be truthful, I feel I am breathing a little easier down here than I did where we resided for almost 8 years. I enjoyed the area and community, but having grown up on the outskirts of a very open and multicultural major city in QC, I could only adapt so much. And I think that is normal for anyone who has transplanted to a significantly different setting. I am OK with that. I still work there and get to see a lot of local residents whom I enjoy deeply.

We tend to think of Canada as one big blanket of “same”, but the variations run from province to province, region to region, village to village… I think that’s why regardless of how we have built a life here and how PEI is pretty much all that my children have ever known (except for the eldest who has very vivid memories of his first seven years in QC), I still feel the need to go back and get my doses of “home”. I will be doing that in June, and then I’m sure I will be ready to enjoy another nice PEI summer involving the beach and visiting friends and relatives. 🙂

I am currently dealing with another sinus infection/cough/cold. Yoga is out of the question. It is what keeps me balanced, healthy, making good choices, and sleeping well. But when you fly into a coughing fit every time you take a deep breath, you tend to opt out on your Favourite Time. Some of the kids do it with me, which I think is great. We are also supposed to start a homeschool yoga class soon, but so far my sinuses and the weather have been rather uncooperative. Oh well, soon enough.

I get irritable when I’m sick. The things that usually just roll off me like water off a duck’s back don’t. I find myself wanting to respond, to confront, to fight back—even if people aren’t necessarily intentionally fighting with me to begin with. Things that I generally just shrug off and have even come to find rather amusing at times, such as yet another person “testing” or “quizzing” my unschooled child, or expressing relief that one of my children remains in school simply because they are uncomfortable with the out-of-the-box thinking that is unschooling and homeschooling in general, tend to find their way under my skin pretty quickly. I know that the issue does not lie with home education itself, but with the discomfort some people feel when faced with thinking outside of the box and challenging assumptions in education. And I get that, and can only hope that someday these people stop limiting their own thinking and open up to the beauty that comes with freedom and passionate natural life learning. But it’s not my problem—except when I’m sick and get irritated with such comments LOL… Let’s just hope I get better soon and go back to the level of complete confidence and mellowness regarding unschooling that it has taken me a decade to achieve. I hate being cranky, sensitive and irritable, about anything, really…

It is a rainy,  board game kind of day. Maybe some hot tea and time cuddling on the couch with my kids will take the edge off a little. We’ve got books, a Bio Viva game that they love (which was given to us by the very cool lady who bought The Hex House and whose grown unschooled daughter is now a professional musician in New York City), Cranium, Monopoly, and a few other fun things to do. Time to sign off, clean up, and enjoy. Maybe I will even take a nap later.

Have a great day. 🙂

7 thoughts on “Snottiness and lack of yoga

  1. Nice to ‘read from you again’ 🙂 Hope you feel better soon and get back to your ‘Favourite Time’. Snuggling with the kids and ideally Hubby too with books and games sound kinda like an ideal day to me! Best wishes, Penny

    1. Hey Penny!

      Thanks for the comment. How are you? We had a great day, actually. We watched Turtle: The Incredible Journey, read a book about the upcoming Summer Solstice, and played cards. Then we BBQ’d. 🙂

      I am going to zip over to your blog and see what you guys have been up to lately.

      Jo

Leave a Reply

