Book

I’m supposed to be writing a book right now but I can’t focus. My daughters are watching The Smurfs, and I love Neil Patrick Harris. Dear Lord, Doogie has grown up. I also have a migraine because I have been an idiot and consumed more dairy than my body can adequately handle, which is probably only a fraction of what other people would consume in one day. It’s not my fault (oh yes it is)—it was pink-stickered (50% off) at Super Store and I had a coffee date with a friend whom I hadn’t seen in a while. Which doesn’t explain why I bought two packages of garlic herb goat cream cheese instead of one but anyhoo…

My editor is a single mother and English Lit major whom I have known for about 15 years now. She is blunt, she is raw, she calls it like she sees it, and for this, we have always gotten along. I am not, nor have I ever been, good with the catty two-faced female bitchy stuff. She upsets catty two-faced bitchy females with her directness. Seeing as I don’t take everything everyone says the wrong way or make them walk on eggshells around me–and am often thoroughly amused by directness—this makes for a good team. I look forward to the moment when we celebrate the launching of this baby in the flesh together, as she is a couple of provinces away at the moment (thank God for the internet). Copious amounts of wine will likely be consumed.

Ironically, as she has been a single mother for a few years, and has gone to school and worked at the same time, you would think she would be one of the most unlikely candidates for embarking on such a project (it is a book aimed at stay-at-home mothers), but no. And for that I am grateful, because I am very comfortable with this “relationship”.

That said, I have been dealing with the biggest chapter in the book, and I am stuck, I am bored, I am pushing my way through what in essence boils down to typing. Information. Out.

Ick.

Recipes. Sigh. Yawn. And again, Ick…

Yes, fun to select, fun to try, but not fun to type out in detail.

So I keep taking breaks and working on other chapters that just seem to be writing themselves, they are coming so easily. Oh, and I’m watching movies with the kids as it’s pouring rain and they have already spent quite a bit of time colouring and building blanket forts in the living room.

We will need volunteers to read it when it is finished, and share feedback which can be put on the back cover if they don’t mind.

Time to go. The Guitar Hero scene is on.

10 thoughts on “Book

  1. You too? I am working on a book as well. You seem further along than I am. I am in the reading-stuff-to-the-point-of-wondering-what-could-I-possibly-have-to-add stage. We should talk.

    1. It went on the back-burner for quite a while as I had no desire to work on it while I was working two part time jobs. Now that I am home again I NEED to finish it. I re-read what had been written already, changed some of it, and realized it needs to be completed and put out there. It has been a while since I’ve been able to put so much energy into writing (or any creative project for that matter).
      I would love to hear more about what you are writing. πŸ™‚

    1. Hey Kameron,

      I enjoyed your post. I am not religious myself, but agree that in many respects, both men and women have indeed failed one another. It seems easier to simply go with the flow of culture as opposed to put effort into life, marriage, and raising our children these days.

      I look forward to reading more of your posts. πŸ™‚

      Jo

Leave a Reply

