BOOKS BOOKS BOOKS! 2014 reading list

I love books. I have always loved books. Every personality test I have taken lands me at almost 50/50 introvert/extrovert, with the extroverted surpassing the introverted ever-so-slightly. I think that I tend to adapt to the situation at hand and the people surrounding me—if I am around a very loud, outgoing person, I let them have centre-stage.  If I am surrounded by introverts in a situation where things need to get rolling, I step forward and speak up. So personally, I think this fairly Even Steven disposition is a positive thing.

Anyhow, the introverted side of me found solace in books at a very early age. We lived a short distance from the local library and my mother took us there often. It was one of my favourite places in the world. I could spend a day with my nose in a book (or two).

When my children were babies I would read while nursing them. Whatever stage of life I was at, it seemed I was devouring books. I lived quite happily without TV for a few years, and would still do it gladly, so long as I had books books books. But seeing as I share my life with a Taurean Male, this will not happen again, as putting his feet up & watching TV constitutes relaxing down time after a hard day’s work for him. And he does work hard.

With  the children getting older, the  house has become noisier, the shift from babies playing quietly to kids and  teenagers engaging me  in almost constant conversation has happened, and the access to a reasonably silent time to read uninterrupted is limited. I still make myself do it in spurts, but it now requires actual planning and effort. I do try to get at least 30 minutes in while the rest of the  house sleeps after yoga in the  morning, but sometimes they wake up and then the noise takes over. I also sometimes duck into the bedroom in the evening to read while they watch TV, or take a bath. It always brings me comfort.

I have been given books, have started to read books written by friends and family (both published and as of yet unpublished), and have books on my Kindle app that I know I will get sucked into if I sit down to read them. So I have complied a list of these half-read and unread books that I would like to enjoy over this coming year.

Winter has set in. Storms  have already forced us to remain home. Going out in nasty weather, braving slushy and  icy roads with children in tow, and  all that comes with winter (snowsuits, wet boots, etc.) seems to have sent my extroverted self into hibernation mode, and allowed the quiet, book-loving side of my personality to kick in, and savour curling up on the bed or in the bath with a mug of infusion—or glass of whiskey—and a good book.

Without further ado, here is the list, to be modified as each book is read. Perhaps I will review each book as well on a separate page as well, as I complete them…

2014 READING LIST

  1. Summer Snow by Eleanor Millard (currently reading)
  2. Catalyst by Rob Arthur (as of yet unpublished, and currently reading)
  3. Spirit of Joy  by Joy Harvie MacLaren (another wonderful lady we have had the privilege of meeting a few times over the years)
  4. Awaken the Giant Within by Anthony Robbins (currently reading)
  5. The Golden Compass by Philip Pullman (currently reading)
  6. The Subtle Knife by Philip Pullman
  7. The Amber Spyglass by Philip Pullman
  8. Charlotte Mason’s Original Home Schooling Series, vol. 1-6
  9. Ecopsychology by Vladimir Antonov
  10. If You Ask Me by Betty White
  11. GTD for Homemakers by Mystie Winckler
  12. The  House I Loved by Tatiana De Rosnay
  13. The Master Butcher’s Singing Club by Louise Erdrich
  14. Flight Behaviour by Barbara Kingsolver
  15. Mrs. Dunwoody’s Excellent Instructions for Homekeeping by Miriam Lukken
  16. What the Most Successful People Do At Work by Laura Vanderkam
  17. What the Most Successful People Do Before Breakfast by Laura Vanderkam (to re-read)
  18. Radical Unschooling: A Revolution Has Begun by Dayna Martin (to re-read)
  19. Poésies Complètes d’Émile Nelligan
  20. Mind Your manners: A Guide to Good Behaviour by Robert O’Byrne
  21. The War Horse by Michael Morpurgo
  22. 31 Days To Clean by Sarah Mae (to re-read)
  23. Desperate by Sarah Mae
  24. The Unwired Mom by Sarah Mae
  25. The Virgin Cure by Ami McKay
  26. Ice Bridge by D.R. MacDonald
  27. The Hobbit by J.R.R. Tolkien
  28. The Fellowship of the Ring by J.R.R. Tolkien
  29. The Two Towers by J.R.R. Tolkien
  30. The Return of the King by J.R.R. Tolkien
  31. The Host by Stephanie Meyer
  32. If Today Be Sweet by Thrity Umrigar
  33. The Daydreamer by Ian MacEwan
  34. The Beautiful  Things  That Heaven Bears by Dinaw Mengestu
  35. Fugitive Pieces by Anne Michaels
  36. Paradise by Toni Morrison
  37. The White  Bone by Barbara Gowdy
  38. The 33 Strategies of War by Robert Greene (to re-read)
  39. Island Beneath the  Sea by  Isabelle Allende
  40. Last  Chance to  Eat by Gina Mallet
  41. The Tiger’s Wife by Téa OBreht
  42. Old  Souls  by Tom Shroder
  43. To Build a Fire and other stories by Jack London
2 thoughts on “BOOKS BOOKS BOOKS! 2014 reading list

  1. I am very impressed with your ambitious list! I am planning to read volumes 1, 3, and 6 of Charlotte Mason’s Original Homeschool Series. (Ambleside Online has a study group and a plan, so I’ll just follow along.) For the rest, well…books will present themselves and I will read them. 🙂

    1. That’s usually the way I go about reading, except I have found myself annoyed by the fact that I have so many books kicking around that remain unread. 🙂

      Some of these are quite short, and I have been surprised at how much I wind up covering when I set aside some time to read before the rest of the house wakes up. Slow but certain progress…

      I must read all of these books. MUST.

Leave a Reply

