Spring’s return and the re-writing of goals

Everybody has at one point or another made New Year’s resolutions. Most of us make drastic ones and then break them within a week or a month at best. Sometimes we don’t, when they are very important to us and we have finally hit a point where we are ready to change something for good.

I had given up on resolutions, but in late December I chose to set goals and break them down. I wrote out what I wanted to accomplish over the next year, or over the next few years with changes that had to become concrete in 2014 to pave the way. So far, almost three months into 2014, I can honestly say that this has been a succesful approach for me. I had some goals that needed to unfold in stages, over a period of three months, and with this approach I succeeded in achieving them. I had read of people choosing a word for their year (one person’s being “husband” as they felt they had neglected their marriage in the building of their writing & speaking career, which ironically was about motherhood and marriage; another person’s was “completion” as they had always struggled with the final stage of getting things done).  I decided to give this a shot as well. I will not divulge my word until the very end of the year, but so far I am amazed at how simply visualizing the word in my mind helps me get through certain challenges.

March 1st was a deadline I set to release my e-book “Holy Sh**, This Is HARD: Thriving as a Full Time Parent“. I did it. To some, this may not be a big deal, but if you’ve known me for a while then you know that I am afraid of everything and have to face it head on in order to not be. It may sound stupid to some, but that is just who I am. I think this is why I am so open to doing new things: because they terrify me and I don’t know of any other way to conquer that fear and not handicap myself. I am aware that if a fear is conquered, I will gain so much more than if I let myself shrink away from something and remain in my comfort zone. As I have actively chosen to do this on a regular basis, things frighten me less and less. It would have been easy to just leave a half-finished book on my computer, not get it out to the public, and not risk being laughed at or having people not like it. It would be easier to not take a class at the gym that is out of my comfort zone and just keep working out in my living room, on my deck, or going running. But I have gained so much, had so much fun, and met so many amazing people since doing it that I’m glad I bit the bullet and did it. I’m glad I have made the effort to actively choose the path that is making a positive and concrete difference in my life.

I would review the goals I had written out once a week, and if I seemed blocked in some areas, ask myself why, and what I could do differently to make them happen. I also realized that a few weeks into things, a couple of them weren’t really what I wanted. New ones were added as well. The working and reworking of goals is just as important as the initial setting of them. Adaptability is key. If something isn’t working but you want it to happen, ask yourself what you could do differently. Don’t be stubborn about the process–it’s like being a mouse in a maze: if one path leads you to a dead-end, try another path.

Now spring is officially just around the corner. I have yet to set up our Ostara/Spring table at the top of the stairs, but it’ll get done. With a bit of the chaos that has been occurring in our life lately mixed with sickness & the time change, I have gotten out of the habit of rising early to workout, meditate, read & write. I am amazed at the snowball effect this has had ont he rest of my life. I don’t like it. I’m going to spend the next couple of days looking at the goals I had set, and re-evaluation how I would like my spring and summer to unfold in light of them.

I feel like one feels when they have quit smoking and then have a cigarette: when you’re a smoker you don’t clue in to how much better you’d feel if you quit. Then you quit, and in just a short while you are AMAZED at the difference. If you backslide, you feel the effects right away. That is me right now…

So by tonight I will have my Ostara/Spring table set up. It will be the first step in getting back into the rhythm that has brought balance, joy, and productivity into my life.  Tuesday I will rise at 5:00am again, savour the silence, and set the tone for the day.

Spring is a new season that I choose to embrace. 🙂

Leave a Reply

