Word for the Year

2015 New Year celebration
Last year was the first year that I chose to have a “word for the year”. The idea came to me after reading a friend’s blog. It made such sense. Choose a word to focus on over the next year, and make it your theme of sorts. Have that word at the back of your mind, always. What you do will inevitably line up with the word.

Mine was “success”. And I was successful. I worked out regularly. I made new friends. I finished a book and published it. I painted more, and sold several pieces. I participated in Art Battle and made it to the final round. I read more books over the year than I had in a long time. I got on board with a new up & coming Atlantic Canadian magazine.There is more that I won’t get into, but it seemed like my focus and drive allowed me to experience life as though the Universe were shining upon me. Everything I put effort into, I succeeded at. Unfortunately, by the end of the year, I was also burning out—a consequence of a go-go-go achieve-achieve-achieve mentality.

One thing I realized is that if we don’t have our health (both physical and mental), nothing else will amount to much. So my goals and word for 2015 reflect this reality.

Goals for 2015
Word for the year: HEALTH

  • Gradually transition back to veganism, save on holidays, evenings out, & Bottle Babes (our monthly wine tasting group) meetings.
  • Get back into the rhythm of waking before the rest of the house to do yoga, read and journal.
  • Start running outdoors again.
  • Read. Every day. And focus on authors I know first-hand or second-hand. It’s important to encourage one another, and give each other’s creations a fair chance. We all have to start somewhere, and we all have some pretty cool stuff to share. So far I am blown away by some of what I have read from emerging authors. Heck, I am one myself, and so many people have given me a fair chance, and it’s been great. Pay it forward, right?
  • Schedule a regular time to paint and stick to it.
  • Reach out to friends and not lose touch.

Subjects I want to explore in depth in 2015

  • Kundalini yoga
  • Yoga in general (hatha, ashtanga, vinyasa)
  • Meditation
  • Chakra meditation
  • Rumi’s poetry
  • Hinduism
  • Buddhism
  • Macrobiotics

Do you have a word for the year? What is it? What changes would you like to make in 2015?

3 thoughts on “Word for the Year

Leave a Reply

