Stormy Sundays & a Weekly Schedule

It is almost 10:00am. I slept in after being sick with the flu for two days. We have been curled up drinking coffee, eating a relaxed breakfast (everyone kind of grabbed their own today), and The Husband & kids have just finished a game of Scrabble.

This week will be our first return to a semi-structured kind of homeschooling in a while. I have been preparing accordingly. My part-time work days have also been changed, so that I am now home four days in a row and at work for three. This was not my idea, but one that I am grateful for, as it will make life flow a little more easily.

It is storming out today. I love storms.

Sundays are now my chosen day of relaxation. There are things I want to do on Sundays, and things that need to be done, but I refuse to fall back into the mode of putting constant pressure on myself to check things off my self-imposed list and prove that I am achieving something. My word this year is “health”. Part of a healthy lifestyle and mentality is, as my friend Heidi said, balance. She is so right. One needs a certain amount of goal setting and self-discipline, yet one needs to chill and go easy on one’s self as well. Balance. Health.

Health is the food that fuels my body. Health is the time spent outdoors getting fresh air. Health is meditating, practising asanas, and so on. Health is enjoying friendships and new experiences. Health is nurturing my marriage and fostering good relationships with and among my children. Health is, sometimes, saying “no” to others, and to my own desire to do and experience everything under the sun. Health is balance.

I need a guideline to make life flow more easily. Not something that confines me, but helps me stay on track. I also need a breather from said guideline from time to time.

This is what I want my life to look like from here on out. Not to a “t”, not every single day, not without flexibility. But this is my guideline. And I believe it will be very conducive to being a healthy wife, mother, and woman. We have a pretty active social life, and some mornings will be tweaked to accommodate an early morning hike with friends, or an evening out. Some afternoons we will just say “screw it!” and head outside to enjoy nature. Health. Balance.

WEEKLY SCHEDULE

Sunday (in no particular order—just when I feel like it):

  • Workout

  • Shower & Reading

  • Breakfast

  • Make bed

  • Tidy up if needed

  • Supper in the Slow Cooker

  • Paint

  • Relaxed “3R” homeschooling

  • Lunch

  • Board games

  • Write

  • Yoga

  • Prep for week’s homeschooling

  • Read to kids

  • Dinner

Monday:

5:30am

Wake up.

Yoga, meditation & reading

Blog post.

7:00am

Breakfast & chores

Boys laundry & sheets

8:00am

Begin homeschooling.

Math (30 minutes)

L.A. (30 minutes)

~15 minute break~

French (30 minutes)

Spelling (1 lesson for younger ones)

Copywork (base it on poem a week)

~Lunch break~

Chores

12:30pm

Story of the World & project for younger ones

Ancient History: begin Part One with study questions (older ones)

Art

3:00pm

Homeschooling is DONE


!!!PAINT!!!

Go for a run

Gun-Bun-Ab Challenge

Make dinner

6:30pm

Dinner time

7:00pm

Get boys in bath/shower

Read to kids

9:00pm

Chill time

Tuesday:

5:30am

Wake up

Yoga & Gun-Bun-Ab Challenge

Get homeschool co-op stuff ready

Make breakfast

7:00am

Get kids up

Pack homeschool group lunch

Start our laundry

8:00-8:45am

Kids’ chores

Mom: Make bed & sweep & tidy up

Go over girls’ rooms

Deep clean bathrooms

9:45am

Leave for homeschool group (older ones have math, copywork, French and History to work on)

12:30pm

Errands & library

3:00pm

(*Once a month Teen Book Club is from 3:30pm-5:30pm)

Finish our laundry

Clean up dining room & entrance

Wash floor while kids play outside

!!!PAINT!!!

Make dinner

8:00pm

Get kids ready for bed & read to them

9:00pm

Chill Time

Wednesday:

5:30am

Yoga, meditation & reading

Get homeschool stuff ready

Make breakfast

7:00am

Get kids up

8:00-8:45am

Kids’ chores

Mom: Make bed & sweep & tidy up

Vacuum

Go over girls’ room

8:45am

Begin homeschooling

Math (30 minutes)

L.A. (30 minutes)

~15 minute break~

French (30 minutes)

Spelling (1 lesson for younger ones)

Copywork (base it on poem a week)

~Lunch break~

Chores

12:30pm

Science according to Lesson Pathways

Composer study (play in the background all week long & 15 minutes or so of further “exploration”)

3:00pm

Homeschooling is DONE

Dust & clean living room

Girls’ laundry & sheets

Clean basement

Make dinner

7:00pm

Girls’ bath

Gun-Bun-Ab Challenge

8:00pm

Get kids ready for bed & read to them

9:00pm

Chill time

Thursday:

5:30am

Elliptical & Gun Bun Ab Challenge

Reading

Set out homeschool and review stuff & chores for kids

Make breakfast
Get dinner in slow cooker & pack lunch

Boys’ laundry & sheets

8:40am

Leave for work

5:45pm

Home & dinner time (table should be set by kids)

Review school work individually with the kids

Hang out with the fam

7:00pm

Boys’ showers

Read to kids

9:00pm

Chill time

Friday:

5:30am

Yoga & meditation

Reading

Set out homeschool and review stuff & chores for kids

Make breakfast
Get dinner in slow cooker & pack lunch

8:40am

Leave for work

5:45pm

Home & dinner time (table should be set by kids)

Review school work individually with the kids

Hang out with the fam

Gun-Bun-Ab challenge

7:30pm

Read to kids

8:30pm

Chill Time

Saturday:

5:30am

Yoga, meditation & reading.

Set out homeschool and review stuff & chores for kids

Make breakfast
Get dinner in slow cooker & pack lunch

8:40am

Leave for work

5:45pm

Home & dinner time (table should be set by kids)

Hang out with the fam

Gun-Bun-Ab Challenge

7:30pm

Read to kids

8:30pm

Chill time

Today I am going to enjoy my stormy Sunday, play Scrabble with my family, perhaps do a few relaxing yoga poses to help kick the remainder of this flu, and paint for a bit if I feel like it. It is a Stormy Sunday, the kind we savour here on our little island, as life seems to stop in ways that it wouldn’t anywhere else and forces us to be still and clue in to our blessings. Forces us to live. Life stops in a way that forces us to live—it makes perfect sense to me…

4 thoughts on “Stormy Sundays & a Weekly Schedule

    1. Hey Carol,

      Thanks for stopping by. 🙂

      I used to give up on schedules because if I “wandered off” I would beat myself up over it. If it can be used as a guideline, it is soooo helpful. Let me know how it goes for you!

      All the best.

      Jo

  1. Good luck on keeping to the schedule! I am trying to get back to making and sticking to my morning routine list and To Do list for my days….so far the last two days have gone amazingly well! Let’s see if I can make it through the week!! 🙂

    1. Good for you! 🙂 It has felt great to be back on track over here. I work three consecutive days a week, but found it nice to be able to fully focus on home & family again for four days straight. A rhythm/schedule helps with so much. Days don’t get wasted, you know?

Leave a Reply

