Thank you, Penelope Trunk. Because MBTI is important.

FREEDOM!!!
I am sure this kid, Miss C., is another ENFP…

I am subscribed to the education portion of Penelope Trunk’s blog. The reason for this is that she is a research maniac who then translates her oodles of research into simple and direct words that are for the most part spot on. Some people don’t like this. That’s OK; they don’t have to read her writing.

I do find her Myers Briggs info fascinating, especially when it comes to education and homeschooling. Because it makes sense. And parents in general tend to ignore this incredibly helpful info when it comes to raising their children, which is sad.

My INTJ daughter is entering high school next year. She is going back to school because she requires the amount of structure and closure with her education that while I can provide if I force myself to, she in many ways refuses to accept from me, as I am “Mom”. That’s fine. To be honest, I would rather clean a toilet with my tongue than recreate the Prince Edward Island public school classroom and curricula in my home on a daily basis. But this is where she is at right now: structure, assignments, tests, grades, comparison, and so on… My INFP(-T) daughter wants a change after two and a half years at home. Our homeschool group is filled with children younger than her, and she has a good friend her age who will be in her grade next year, so she has decided to go back as well. I can respect that.

I have an SP. School would be torture for him. People forget about SPs—the ones who invent, fix, explore, take apart and rebuild… The world needs these people. Everyone needs an SP in their life. He is 11.5 and the size of a 7-year-old. His father showed him how to use the ride-on lawn mower yesterday, and he caught on immediately. He can handle tools machinery, anything hands-on better than most adults can. Why in god’s name would anyone throw a kid like this behind a desk all day?

So back to my INTJ teen. Some days she looks down on me and is irritated with my lack of “a+b=c” behaviour. Other days she tells me that I’m so lucky because I’m flexible and can make friends with anyone. I think we all have our strengths, and our crosses to bear. We are also all so different. I grew up in a home of three Js (to my knowledge my brother has not taken the MBTI test, but I am sure he is a J). I’m a P. I was the weirdo. I laughed when Penelope Trunk described ENFPs as being so far out of the box that they don’t even know where the box is. It all makes sense now LOL. And I can’t find the right post for that last one so here is another one on ENFPs being out of the box instead. 🙂

My teen was informing me that one of her friend’s parents doesn’t understand how the kids can be homeschooled if I am currently working three days a week, because aren’t homeschooling parents supposed to be home with the kids during the week? Now, my husband was home over the winter. It has only been in the last few weeks that he has begun full-time work again, and as of September, I will be home Sunday to Friday. But people create blocks, because of their idea, based on what has been impressed upon them, of how kids “should” learn, and when. One thing that homeschooling for 13 years has taught me is that there are days when a child will learn more from watching an hour of YouTube at 8:oopm on a Saturday night and then experimenting with what he’s observed than he may have during a weekday between 8:30am and 3:00pm. So, that previously mentioned box that ENFPs are unaware of? It is irrelevant when it comes to how children actually learn.

One of my daughters was in school from Grade 3 to Grade 5. She only learned how to read a few months before entering Grade 3. We were worried, because she just didn’t seem to be picking up on it, no matter what program or software we used, no matter how much time we spent trying to teach her. One day she just decided it was time to learn.So she did. And while she was in school her reading level tested at above grade level (not that I put much stock into that, but I know that Js would so I’m tossing it out in the hopes of helping some people understand what I’m getting at).

It is a blessing to hit the stage in life when your previous “quirks” (i.e. where the fuck is that box?) become assets. There’s a reason why there seem to be more ENFP homeschooling parents than any other type. We can tune in and adapt as needed, because we don’t have set ideas of how things are supposed to be.

Take the test. If you feel like it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

