Why I will never (ever) charge a ridiculous ego-centric amount of money for any painting I create

Finger painting completed in 20 minutes while practising for Art Battle last fall.
Finger painting completed in 20 minutes while practising for Art Battle last fall.

This is PEI.

I want people who live here to be able to afford my work and hang it in their homes.

I understand that our island has a significant amount of upper middle class to wealthy retirees. These are not the Islanders (or Islanders By Choice, if you may) that I am referring to.

You know those people that you see here all year long, who shop at Super Store with their children, who live in modest homes and have budgets? The ones whose work is either seasonal, or they actually have to go Out West for several months of the year because wages are lacking on PEI, degree/certificate or not? The families who live on one income because daycare rates are insane so instead of working just to pay for daycare just to go to work just to pay for daycare, one parent stays home and gets creative with meals and expenses? Basically… most of my friends and neighbours? They should be able to afford an occasional piece of original artwork that does not cost as much as a car payment, or in some cases an entire used vehicle. Or brand new one.

There is no way I will ever make my art unaffordable to the Regular Joe. If in twenty years my skills have quadrupled, my children are gone, and all I do is paint and participate in art exhibits and shows, I will still NEVER let my ego get so big that I believe that something that cost me a few dollars in materials and took a few hours to a day to create (passionately and happily at that) is somehow magically worth the equivalent of one month of groceries for a family of four. Not a fucking chance.

I respect a certain painter here on the island who regularly creates beautiful and affordable images. He is talented and experienced. I have yet to purchase one of his works but it is on my Rewards List after the completion of a few goals and projects. I can’t wait.

I love when people connect with my work. Those are the people I want my work to go to, whatever their budget. I have been known to reduce prices and swap for things just because. And I will continue to do so, because when I feel inspired to paint something, I enjoy the process. If the part of me that winds up on canvas touches a part of you, then I want you to have the option of purchasing it. Connection is grand. ❤

2 thoughts on “Why I will never (ever) charge a ridiculous ego-centric amount of money for any painting I create

  1. Good for you. I’m always astounded at the prices people charge for their paintings. And I know a great painter or two who have been roundly scolded by other painters for not charging as much as they “should”.

Leave a Reply

